“Institution Building Days”

On June 9-10, 2016 in Brussels (the Kingdom of Belgium) the Annual Meeting of the National Contact Points for the Institution Building instruments Twinning, TAIEX and SIGMA programme “Institution Building Days – 2016” organised by the Directorate General Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations was held. 

On the occasion of the 20-th anniversary of TAIEX, this year a new vision for its usage, the main achievements of implementing the policy of Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations and EC initiative aimed at enhancing its efficiency and effectiveness will be presented. 

During the meeting representatives of EC presented best practice and innovative approaches to implementation of the Institution Building Instruments, made a comprehensive review of these instruments and discussed a range of issues related to key priorities of all partner countries as well as considered gender equality issues within the framework of the EU assistance. 

Johannes Hahn, Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, in his opening remark greeted all the participants of the event and conducted overall review of future prospects for Institution Building Instruments TAIEX and Twinning . The Ambassador Carola van Rijnsoever, Permanent Representative of the Netherlands to the EU Political and Security Committee, addressed the participants from the Dutch Presidency. 

On the 10th of June, after discussing the issues of innovations of the Twinning instrument and SIGMA programme implementation, a separate meeting of the EU member states for the purpose of summarizing an event was held. 

The “Institution Building Days – 2016”  was attended by representatives of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom; Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey; Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Moldova, Morocco, Palestine, Tunisia and Ukraine, the Turkish Cypriot community. 

The Deputy Head of the Projects Management Unit of the Center for Adaptation of Civil Service to the Standards of the European Union Yuliia Vasylko took part in the event.

Relevant? Tell your friends

Subscribe newsletter